Mobile Navigation
Kansas Counties »

Kansas Counties » Introduction

The State of Kansas has 105 counties. The map shows each county's geographic boundaries, and below the map is an alphabetical list of all Kansas counties.

On the map or list, click on the name of a county to find its county seat, county code, year established, year organized, general location in Kansas, origin of its name and other facts of interest that make it unique. A county was established when the legislature determined its original name and boundaries. A county was organized when it formed a government and had a population of at least 600 people.

License Plate image

Click on the license plate for suggestions of 105 things to see in Kansas' 105 counties!

Whether before or after you explore this chapter, see how much you know about Kansas counties by taking the sixteen-question quiz at Check Your Knowledge!

(To contribute facts about your county, send a message to along with the source that verifies the information.)

Counties by Region

  • Northwest
  • West Central
  • Southwest
  • North Central
  • Central
  • South Central
  • Northeast
  • East Central
  • Southeast

List of Counties