Mobile Navigation
Executive Branch »

Executive Branch » Governor's Cabinet

The governor is assisted in managing the executive branch by 13 agencies that comprise the governor’s cabinet. Cabinet secretaries are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor, subject to Senate confirmation. The 13 cabinet-level agencies and their duties include the following:

Adjutant General’s Department – operates to serve the needs of Kansas citizens and local communities, the state and the nation by protecting life and property. The Division of Emergency Management provides a 24-hour operation to protect Kansans from all hazards and other disasters by providing and coordinating resources, expertise, leadership and advocacy through mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery. Kansas Homeland Security coordinates statewide activities pertaining to the prevention of and protection from terrorist-related events. The Adjutant General’s Department also administers the joint federal-state program that is the Kansas Army and Air National Guard, in which more than 7,700 part-time soldiers and airmen currently serve the state.

Department of Administration – oversees many of state government’s administrative activities, including payroll and general accounting services, personnel services, procurement and contracts, printing, mailing, facilities management, and the disposition and reallocation of surplus state property. The Office of Repealer was recently established within the department to accept and review suggestions from citizens, businesses and government agencies for the repeal of statutes, regulations and executive orders.

Department for Aging and Disability Services – provides services and programs to promote security, dignity and independence to Kansas’ older adults and to persons with disabilities, and coordinates and provides substance abuse and mental health services for individuals and communities.

Department of Agriculture – administers laws and programs for the entire Kansas agriculture sector, including farmers, ranchers, food establishments and agribusinesses, and the conservation of natural resources.

Department for Children and Families – administers laws and programs concerning child support services; economic and employment services, including temporary cash assistance, food assistance, child care and work programs; foster care and adoption services; adult and child protection services; and employment and independent living services for Kansans with disabilities.

Department of Commerce – promotes business, commerce and industry in Kansas through a variety of programs and services that create jobs, attract new investment, provide workforce training and encourage community development.

Department of Corrections – contributes to public safety as part of the criminal justice system by oversight of incarcerated individuals and management of offenders within the community. The department supervises eight adult correctional facilities and two juvenile facilities within the state, and offers re-entry services and supervision for offenders released from Kansas correctional facilities. The Prisoner Review Board within the department determines when an inmate will be released and establishes conditions of parole. The department’s Office of Victim Services provides confidential support and information to victims, survivors and witnesses to a crime.

Department of Health and Environment – administers laws and regulations and manages a multitude of programs and services to protect and improve the health and environment of all Kansans. The Division of Health oversees community health systems, disease control and prevention, environmental health, and epidemiology and public health statistics. The Office of Vital Statistics receives and preserves vital records for births, deaths, marriages, divorces and adoptions that occur in Kansas. The Division of Environment monitors air and water quality compliance, environmental remediation and hazardous waste management. Both divisions are supported by health and environmental laboratories. The department also administers through its Division of Health Care Finance the state employee health plan and the Medicaid plan for Kansas.

Kansas Highway Patrol – serves as the primary law enforcement agency for upholding public safety on Kansas’ roadways. The KHP provides traffic enforcement, narcotics interdiction, criminal investigations and security for public events; provides tactical, aerial and specialized police services to Kansas’ rural and local law enforcement agencies; supports homeland security initiatives; performs motor carrier and vehicle inspections; and promotes the use of child restraints and safety belts through aggressive enforcement and educational programs. The KHP also provides police officers and guards assigned to serve at the state’s Capitol and other government-owned buildings in Topeka.

Department of Labor – administers workforce services through the Unemployment Insurance Program and processes claims for unemployment benefits; operates the state’s workers compensation system; enforces Kansas employment standards, including wage and hour laws, child labor laws and workforce safety; and houses the Kansas Labor Information Center, a job search, career assessment and labor market information system.

Department of Revenue – oversees the administration and compliance of a variety of taxes and services through four main divisions. The Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control enforces Kansas’ liquor laws; the Division of Vehicles issues driver’s licenses and oversees vehicle titles and registration; the Division of Property Valuation supervises ad-valorem policies and procedures and conducts the valuation of state-appraised properties; and the Division of Taxation administers the filing and payment of a variety of personal and business taxes.

Department of Transportation – administers the statewide transportation system through research, design, planning, construction, inspection and maintenance of Kansas’ roads, highways and bridges. The department has six regional districts, each responsible for construction and maintenance activities for the counties in that district.

Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism – enforces the laws and regulations concerning fishing, hunting, boating, and wildlife management and natural resources, and promotes outdoor activities, attractions and events throughout the state. The department issues hunting and fishing licenses and state park permits; offers many outdoors-related educational programs; and manages and maintains numerous state parks and trails across the state, as well as several nature centers that offer outdoor educational experiences.