Mobile Navigation
Executive Branch »

Executive Branch » State Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Besides the 13 cabinet-level agencies, the Kansas executive branch also includes numerous state agencies, boards, commissions and authorities – created by Kansas statutes, governors’ executive orders and federal law – that serve the citizens of Kansas. The heads of most state agencies are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor.

Some agencies exist to oversee regulatory and statutory compliance in a multitude of areas, including banking, securities, utilities, interstate commerce, water resources and gaming.

Many agencies and boards exist to license and regulate various professions, such as accountants; attorneys; barbers and cosmetologists; behavioral sciences professionals (social workers, psychologists, alcohol and drug counselors, marriage and family therapists, etc.); medical and health professionals and technicians (doctors, nurses, dentists, optometrists, emergency medical technicians, occupational therapists, physical therapists, respiratory therapists, etc.); morticians; pharmacists; real estate abstracters, agents and appraisers; teachers; technical professionals (architects, engineers, land surveyors, etc.); and veterinarians.

There are also numerous advisory and advocacy boards, councils and commissions that have been created to address such issues as aging, disability rights, human rights, African American and Hispanic and Latino affairs, substance abuse and early childhood developmental services, and for services to populations such as children with special health care needs, persons with developmental disabilities, crime victims and military veterans.

State statutes define the appointing authority and membership qualifications for a majority of the boards and commissions. Most service on boards and commissions is voluntary. The majority of board and commission members are appointed by the governor, but many positions are legislative leadership appointees. Many boards and commissions also include “ex officio” members, or those who serve by virtue of their position or office.