Legislative Branch » Check Your Knowledge
Try this thirteen-question test to see what you've learned about the Kansas Legislative branch.
How many representatives make up the Kansas House of Representatives?
Who leads the Kansas House of Representatives?
- Majority Leader
- Minority Leader
- Speaker Pro Tem
- Speaker of the House
How often is the Kansas Legislature required to redraw its districts?
- Every 10 years
- Every 5 years
- Every 12 years
- After every statewide general election
In what city does the Kansas Legislature congregate?
- Kansas City
How many senators make up the Kansas Senate?
How long is a Kansas state senator's term?
- 1 year
- 2 years
- 4 years
- 8 years
Where does an introduced bill begin to be formally discussed?
- Between the legislators in the chamber of origin
- In a standing committee
- In the committee of the whole
- Between the governor and the sponsors of the bill
Both chambers of the Legislature must vote by what margin to override a governor's veto?
- A majority
How long does the governor have to sign or veto a bill?
- 7 days
- 10 days
- 30 days
- 365 days
How many legislators does it take to pass a bill in its respective chamber?
- A majority
What type of committee is used when the House and Senate cannot agree on the passage of a bill?
- Statutory committee
- Conference committee
- Select (special) committee
- Standing committee
What is a veto called when it deals with the appropriation of money?
- Line-item veto
- Fiscal veto
- Standard veto
- Special-circumstance veto
State law requires all acts passed by the Legislature be published as soon as practicable after the close of each session, but no later than:
- June 1
- July 1
- September 30
- December 31